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Divorce:  Things to Consider

This pamphlet on divorce is meant to give a broad overview of some of the areas of concern which might arise
during a divorce proceeding.  IT IS BY NO MEANS COMPREHENSIVE AND SHOULD NOT BE
CONSTRUED AS LEGAL ADVICE.  Divorce by its nature is personal and each case is different; therefore, it
is strongly recommended that you obtain an attorney to properly represent your interests in any of  the matters
mentioned in this pamphlet or any others that may arise.  The following is meant to give you a guide to typical areas
for discussion with your attorney.
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Overview of Divorce Procedure

Iowa has what is known as a “no-fault” divorce law.
This means that one party is no longer required to
prove in an adversarial proceeding that the other party
was “at fault” or caused the marriage breakup.
Instead of proving fault, a person must simply show
there has been a breakdown in the marriage
relationship, the “legitimate objects of matrimony”
have been destroyed, and there remains no reasonable
likelihood that the marriage can be preserved.  Usually,
the party seeking the divorce is the only one who needs
to testify if all of the issues (e.g., custody, visitation,
support, property and debt division) have been
resolved by a written agreement or the other spouse
completely ignores the divorce action (“default”).  In
some situations a hearing and testimony are not
required at all.

The first step in obtaining a divorce is to file a petition
with the Court for “dissolution of marriage”—defined
as a “termination of the marriage relationship” and
synonymous with the term “divorce.”  A copy of the
dissolution petition and an original notice from the
Clerk of Court must be given to the other spouse.
Before a person can file a petition for dissolution, he
or she must have resided in the state for at least one
year, or the person’s spouse must be a resident of
Iowa and be personally served (notified in person) in
Iowa.  The county in which the dissolution is filed is
the one either spouse resides in.

After the petition has been filed, and the other spouse
is served with (receives a copy of) the petition, a
waiting period of 90 days is required before the
divorce decree can be granted.  This waiting period
can be waived only for good cause and a showing of
emergency or necessity to satisfy the Court that
immediate action is required.  During the 90 days,
temporary orders may be obtained by either spouse
that will give her or him attorney fees; temporary
custody of the children; child support; alimony; or, if
there has been physical abuse, the right to occupy the
family home. It is also possible to get an injunction to
prevent a spouse from disposing of marital property
prior to the final settlement. If one spouse has harassed
or physically abused the other, a temporary injunction
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may be obtained to prevent these acts from recurring.
Victims of domestic violence can obtain more
information and help through either the Statewide
Domestic Abuse Hotline (800/942-0333) or Iowa
Legal Aid (800/532-1275.)

On request of either spouse, the Court shall require a
60-day counseling period—known as conciliation. (If
conciliation is ordered, the 90-day period starts
running when conciliation is completed.) The
conciliator may be someone requested by the parties
or one of the following:  clergy, physician, public or
private marriage counselor, or representatives from
family service agencies or community mental health
centers.

The 90-day waiting period is also used by the parties
to negotiate a settlement of such matters as property
ownership, child support, spousal support (alimony),
and child custody. In most cases, settlements are
agreed upon through this negotiation process, reduced
to writing, and approved by the Court at a final
hearing. In cases where the parties cannot reach an
agreement, a pretrial conference is scheduled.  At this
pretrial conference, the parties and their attorneys
meet formally at the courthouse to determine which
issues the Court must resolve.  If there are children,
the court will order the parties to go to a class
(probably will last four hours), which will discuss how
children often are caught in the middle of the parents'
divorce. A trial will be scheduled sometime after the
pretrial conference and at least 90 days after the
petition was filed. Divorce cases are heard by a judge
without a jury and generally these trials can be closed
to the public if the Court finds it is in the parties’ or the
child(ren)’s best interests. Divorce files are kept
confidential by the Clerk of Court (and not available
to the public) but only until the divorce is final.

Ordinarily, questions of wrongdoing and fault will not
be heard.  However, the question of personal fitness
of each party will be considered if custody of the
child(ren) is at issue. The Court may, on its own
initiative or at the request of either party, appoint an
impartial third attorney to represent the interests of
the child(ren) at the hearing. The Court may also order
that a home study or child custody evaluation be made



to assist the Court in resolving the issue of child
custody, or may order the parties to participate in
mediation with a mediator to try to resolve the custody/
visitation issue(s). In nearly every case, the parties
will have to pay the costs of the home study, child
custody evaluation, and mediation.

The use of mediation is increasing in Iowa. In
mediation, a neutral third party (not a judge) assists
the parties in talking, listening, and reaching a settlement
of some or all of the issues in their case. The mediator
does not give advice or make decisions. Parties are
encouraged to consult an attorney so they understand
the long-term  legal ramifications of their options. The
parties make decisions based on what is important
and acceptable to both of them.

Either party can request to participate in mediation at
any time, or the Court can order the parties to
participate. The Court orders parties to mediation in
divorce- and custody-related cases that ask the Court
to make a decision. If the parties are unable to reach
complete agreement in mediation, the parties can then
request the Court to make a decision on any
unresolved issues at a hearing or trial. Parties may
request an excuse, or waiver, from mediation where
there is a history of domestic violence or severe abuse.

It is important to note that not all cases are negotiated
to settlement within 90 days.  Some cases do take
longer; however, the court administrators monitor
cases and within 180 days a trial will normally be
scheduled. Civil time standard for processing
contested dissolution cases assumes they can be
completed in eight months and uncontested cases in
four months.  If the case does not got to trial as
scheduled it could be dismissed.
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Specific Issues

Custody
In making a custody decision, the Court’s paramount
concern is the “best interests of the child.”  In deciding
what is in the “best interests of the child,” the Court
should try to assure the opportunity for maximum
continuing physical and emotional contact with both
parents unless circumstances, such as harm to the
child(ren), dictate otherwise.  Therefore, the Court
will consider joint legal custody of the child(ren) upon
application of either party.  In fact, if the Court denies
joint legal custody, it must state its reasons for doing
so.  Joint legal custody does not require joint physical
custody (or that each parent have equal time with the
children).  Joint legal custody means that both parents
have equal participation in decisions affecting the
child(ren)’s legal status, medical care, education,
school activities, and religious instruction.  Physical
custody may still be given to one parent, subject to
visitation rights of the other parent.  The law was
changed in 2004 to require the Court to consider
ordering joint physical care to both parents if one of
them requests it and joint legal custody is appropriate
(and it usually is).  Joint physical care is defined as an
award of physical care to both joint legal custodians.
Both have rights and responsibilities toward the
child(ren) including shared parenting time (not
necessarily 50/50 but often close to that), maintaining
homes for the child(ren), providing routine (day-to-
day) care, etc.)  Neither parent has physical care rights
superior to the other.  In order for joint physical care
to work the parents have to be able to communicate
well with each other and have mutual respect for each
other.  The court can ask them to prepare a parenting
plan to address how the parents will (among other
things) make decisions affecting the child, how the
child’s time will be divided between them and how
each parent will facilitate the child’s time with the other
parent, arrangements for the child’s expenses (beyond
the child support), and how they will resolve major
disagreements affecting the child.

Some of the factors the Court will look at in
determining the proper custody arrangement; i.e. what
is best for the child(ren) include:



whether each parent would be a suitable
custodian for the child(ren);
— emotional, social, moral, material and

educational needs of the child(ren)
— characteristics of each parent including

age, stability, mental, and physical health
—  the interest and ability of each parent to

provide for the needs of the child(ren)
—  the home environment the child(ren)

would be living in
whether the psychological and emotional
needs and development of the child(ren) will
suffer due to lack of active contact with and
attention from both parents;
whether the parents can communicate with
each other regarding the child(ren)’s needs
and each parent can support the other’s
relationship with the child(ren). This is very
important when considering joint physical
care;
whether both parents have actively cared for
the child(ren) before and since the separation;
whether the custody arrangement is in
accordance with the child(ren)’s interests, or
whether the child(ren) has (have) strong
opposition, taking into consideration the
child’s age and maturity;
whether one or both of the parents agree or
are opposed to joint custody;
the geographic proximity of the parents;
whether the safety of the child(ren), other
children, or the other parent will be
jeopardized by the awarding of joint custody
or by unsupervised or unrestricted visitation;
the denial by one parent of the child’s
opportunity for maximum continuing contact
with the other parent without just cause (this
is a significant factor); and
whether there has been a history of domestic
abuse. (If so, there is a rebuttable presumption
that joint legal custody is not appropriate).

If legal and physical custody are awarded to one
parent, the other parent is usually granted visitation
rights.  Also, the Court will seldom separate siblings
into different homes.  If the noncustodial parent has
abused or neglected the child(ren), the Court could
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provide for supervised visitations.

The Court will have looked closely at the behavior of
both parents during the marriage and after their
separation.  Before moving out of a marital home
without your child(ren), you should consult an attorney
if you want custody or primary care.  Once the
custody determination is made by the Court, it is very
difficult to change or modify the decree.

Visitation
Either general or specific visitation rights may be
granted to the noncustodial parent. Again, the Court's
primary concern will be what is best for the child(ren).
It is usually preferable to spell out visitation rights in
the agreement or decree.  Parents who are trying to
work out an agreement can be fairly creative in
designing a visitation schedule that will fit their
child(ren) and their own schedules. It is not always
necessary to simply accept the “typical visitation
schedule” of every other weekend, every other holiday,
etc.  Consideration should be given to visitation on
some weekends, holidays, child(ren)’s and parent’s
birthdays, and school/summer vacations.

Child Support
The Court must now set child support payments
according to child support guidelines established by
the Supreme Court of Iowa, unless the Court
determines in writing that an injustice would occur by
applying the guidelines.  The guidelines take into
consideration both parents’ net incomes and the
number of children to be supported.  The parent paying
support may have the amount reduced if they have
“extraordinary visitation” as defined in the guidelines
as more than 127 overnights per year. If requested,
the Court will usually order temporary child support
while the dissolution is pending.

Women as well as men will be required to pay child
support to the primary custodian.  Child support can
be changed or modified, but it must be shown that
there is a “material change of circumstance” not
contemplated by the Court and the parties at the time
of the decree. From a tax standpoint, child support
payments are not deductible to the person paying them
or taxable to the recipient.
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Spousal Support
Spousal support or alimony may be awarded to either
a husband or a wife.  Receiving alimony is not an
automatic right like child support. The Court looks at
each case individually to see if alimony should be
awarded. Some of the factors the Court will consider
in granting alimony include:

the length of the marriage;
the age and physical and emotional health of
the parties;
the distribution of property;
the educational level of each party at the time
of marriage and at the time the action is
commenced;
the earning capacity of the party seeking
maintenance, including educational
background, training, employment skills,
work experience, length of absence from the
job market, custodial responsibilities for
children and the time and expense necessary
to acquire sufficient education or training to
enable the party to find appropriate
employment;
the feasibility of the party seeking  maintenance
becoming self-supporting at a standard of
living reasonably comparable to that enjoyed
during the marriage, and the length of time
necessary to achieve this goal;
the tax consequences to each party;
any mutual agreement made by the parties
concerning financial or service contributions
by one party with the expectation of future
reciprocation or compensation by the other
party;
the provision of an antenuptial agreement; and
other factors the Court may determine to be
relevant in an individual case.

The Court can award lifetime alimony to a disabled
or an older spouse whose income is significantly less
than the other spouse’s, and where it appears unlikely,
due to age or disability, that the disadvantaged spouse
will be able to significantly improve his or her financial
condition.

The Court can also award rehabilitative alimony to a

spouse for a shorter,  defined period of time to assist
that spouse in making the transition from homemaker
through a schooling or training period into the work
force. The Court can also award reimbursement
alimony to a spouse who has made significant
contributions (homemaking, child care and/or
earnings) to the other spouse’s advanced degree or
professional license.

Typically, lifetime and rehabilitative alimony terminate
when the recipient remarries or dies, but
reimbursement alimony usually does not terminate upon
remarriage.  As a general rule, alimony payments are
taxable to the recipient and deductible to the payer.
If no alimony is received at the time the marriage is
terminated, neither spouse can ever obtain alimony
from the other in the future. Because of this rule, it
may be prudent to obtain even $1 of alimony per year
so that in the event of illness or injury that would
incapacitate a spouse from working, she/he could
reopen the issue of the amount of alimony with the
Court.  Alimony, like child support, can be modified
(increased, decreased or terminated) in the event of a
substantial unforeseen change in circumstances not in
contemplation of the Court or the parties when the
decree was entered.

Property Settlements
Iowa is an “equitable distribution” state.  The Court is
required to make a distribution of assets and debts
which is fair based upon all the facts and circumstances
of each case. Equitable distribution does not always
mean an equal distribution.  In determining an equitable
division of the parties’ assets and debts, the Court
will consider:

the property brought into the marriage by each
party;
the age and physical and emotional health of
the parties;
the length of the marriage;
the contribution of each party to the marriage,
giving appropriate economic value to each
party’s contribution in homemaking and child
care service;

 the earning capacity of each party, including
educational background, training, employment
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skills, work experience, length of absence
from the job market, custodial responsibilities
for children and the time and expense
necessary to acquire sufficient education or
training to enable the party to become self-
supporting at a standard of living reasonably
comparable to that enjoyed during the
marriage;
the desirability of awarding the family home
or the right to live in the family home for a
reasonable period to the party having custody
of any children.  Or, if the parties have joint
legal custody, to the party having physical care
of the child(ren);
the amount and duration of an order granting
support payments to either party, and whether
the property division should be in lieu of such
payments;
other economic circumstances of each party,
including pension benefits, vested or
unvested, and future interests;
the tax consequences to each party;
any written agreement made by the parties
concerning property distribution;
the provisions of any antenuptial agreement;
other factors the Court may determine to be
relevant in an individual case;
the contribution by one party to the education,
training or increased earning power of the
other.

Inherited property and gifts received by either party
are generally not divided between the parties, and
are considered the individual property of the recipient.
However, if these assets become commingled with
marital property or are dissipated in family support, it
may be difficult to recover their value.  Property can
include things like pension plans, partnership interests,
stock in professional corporations or family businesses
(whether incorporated or not), life insurance cash
value, IRAs and employee stock option plans, to
name a few, as well as real estate, certain future
interests, vehicles, farm machinery, livestock, grain,
household goods, bank accounts, stocks and bonds.
The services of other professionals, e.g., appraisers
and accountants, may be required to determine the
extent and value of assets, which can significantly
increase the cost of a divorce action.

Debts
Determining debt liability may be more important than
property division, and usually this is done as part of
the equitable distribution.   Sometimes, one spouse
will declare bankruptcy after the divorce, but the other
spouse will not do so.  The creditors can, and will in
many cases, attempt to collect the debts from the
spouse not declaring bankruptcy.  Unfortunately, the
Court in a dissolution proceeding cannot prevent a
creditor from collecting joint debts from either spouse.
The Court can only decide which spouse is liable for
the debt, as between the parties, but creditors are not
bound by that decision.

Homestead
Often the parties’ major asset is the equity in the home.
It may be impossible for the person assuming
ownership to immediately pay to the other party his
or her share of the equity.  Periodic payments may be
arranged, or a lump sum payment may be made after
sale of the house or at a future date, such as the date
the youngest child reaches majority or the custodial
spouse remarries.  If the custodial or primary care
parent can afford the house payments, often they will
be allowed to remain in the home for the children’s
sake until the children complete high school (absent
remarriage, sale of the home, etc.) before they are
required to pay off the cash settlement on the home
to their former spouse.

Life Insurance
Sometimes the Court will require each party to
maintain a life insurance policy as guarantee of child
support or alimony payments. The beneficiary may
be the spouse, the children, or a trustee, since, Iowa
probate law limits how much a minor may receive
outright from inheritance. It may be difficult to
determine that the required life insurance policy is
being maintained after the divorce.  A provision should
be included in the agreement requiring annual proof
of policy premiums payment  and prohibiting
borrowing against the policy,  which would reduce its
death benefit.

When a divorce decree is entered after a spouse has
designated the other spouse as beneficiary under a
life insurance policy, the designation becomes void
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unless certain conditions are met.  These include the
divorce decree designates the insured’s former spouse
as a beneficiary or the insured signs a designation of
beneficiary form provided by the insurance company
naming the former spouse as the beneficiary.

Health Insurance/Uninsured Medical and
Dental Expenses
The Court will almost always require one parent to
provide health insurance for the child(ren), which may
be in addition to his/her monthly child support
obligation. The child support guidelines require that
the custodial parent pay the first $250 per child per
year (up to a maximum of $500) of any uncovered
medical expenses. Anything above that amount is to
be paid by the parents in proportion to their respective
net incomes.

College Education
Usually child support is not awarded past a child’s
eighteenth birthday or high school graduation, which
ever occurs last.  However, the Court may order a
postsecondary education subsidy if good cause is
shown.  To determine good cause the Court looks at
the age of the child, the ability of the child to complete
college, the child’s financial resources and the financial
condition of each parent.  The cost of the subsidy is
based on the cost of attending an in-state public
college.  What the child can contribute including
financial aid is considered too and neither parent is
required to pay more than one-third of the total cost.
The subsidy is paid to either the college or the child.
No subsidy is required if the child has repudiated
(publicly disowning) the parent and it can be stopped
if they don’t maintain good enough grades.

Removal of Children from the State
The parent who has primary physical care of the
children provides their primary residence, and is thus
entitled to change this residence even by moving out-
of-state. Depending on the individual case, the Court
can require that parents give each other reasonable
notice that they intend to move or relocate to another
state.  The parent so notified may then file a
modification (or change) in the decree to change the
custody or visitation orders.  They may want to argue
to the Court that the move will cause specific harm to

the children and they should therefore have custody.
They may also want to change visitation to
accommodate greater geographic distance between
the parents or ask the Court to determine who will
pay the added transportation costs.   The law does
specifically provide that when a custodial  parent
moves the child(ren) more than 150 miles away,  this
may be considered a substantial and material change
in circumstances and modify the decree. This does
not mean that the custodial or primary care parent
cannot move; it does mean that the other parent would
have the opportunity to request a hearing if he or she
believes the move would cause specific harm to the
child(ren), request a change in visitation to
accommodate greater geographic distance between
the parents, or ask the Court to determine who will
pay the added transportation costs.

Access to Records
Both parents, regardless of who has custody, have a
legal right to access to a child’s medical, school and
law enforcement records, unless specifically denied
by a Court order.

Birth Name
A provision may be made in the divorce decree for
the wife, and now in some cases the husband, to regain
her/his birth name or former married name, and no
other legal action is necessary. Some spouses prefer
to retain their married names, so they will have the
same surname as their minor child(ren).

Attorney Fees
In cases where one spouse has a significantly higher
income than the other, the Court may require the
former to pay the other spouse's attorney fees in the
divorce proceeding.  If there is a trial, these fees can
be sizable and should be considered in determining
the ultimate award of property.

Tax Exemptions
The IRS provides that the parent who has custody of
a child for the greater part of the calendar year may
claim the child as an income tax dependent if the parent
provides more than half the dependent’s support.  The
exceptions to this rule arise when: a) parents sign a
multiple support agreement; b) the custodial parent



releases in writing the right to claim the exemption; or,
c) there is a contrary provision in a pre-l985 decree
or separation agreement.  The settlement should spell
out any agreements.  It is also possible for the parents
to split the exemptions when there is more than one
child or to alternate the child as a dependent every
other year.  The primary custodian may want to
condition waiving the exemption only if child support
is fully paid. As a rule, you should consult someone
well-briefed in tax aspects, since taxes are a very
important part of any divorce proceeding.

Income Tax Returns
Marital status for filing income tax returns is
determined on the last day of the fiscal year for each
taxpayer.  Anyone who files on a calendar year basis
(January l to December 3l) must file as a married
person unless the divorce is final by the end of the
year, or the parties have been separated for more
than six months and one spouse qualifies as head of
household.  Provision should be made in the decree
for the division of any tax refunds.  Again, specific tax
advice should be obtained in all tax matters.

Wills
It is advisable to review a will or write a new one
during a divorce proceeding.  If the spouse dies before
the divorce is final, the property will be distributed as
if the spouse were married, unless the will provides
differently.  Even if the will does not provide for a
surviving spouse, if still married at the time of death, a
surviving spouse may elect against the will and receive
a statutory share of the property or approximately
one-third of the property.  If the will is not rewritten
during the pendency of the divorce, it is certainly
advisable to do so once the divorce is finalized.
However, any bequest made to a spouse in a will
written during the marriage is automatically terminated
when the divorce decree is entered.  Parents should
consider setting up a trust fund to receive insurance
proceeds and pension survivorship proceeds, in
addition to other assets to be held for the benefit of
the child(ren).
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