Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know


Office on the Status of Women releases ICSW Archives

Since the late 1960s, the ICSW has… Read More

Because of recent developments with COVID-19, the Iowa Department of Human Rights and the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women have decided to extend the deadline for the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame and Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice to May 1, 2020 to give nominators more time to work on nominations.


Please visit… Read More

The Iowa Commission on the Status of Women released its 2019 Policy Recommendations. To view the recommendations, click here or visit:

New Historic Marker Program Celebrates Women’s Suffrage History in United States

The Iowa Suffrage Centennial Commemoration Committee, the National Collaborative for Women’s History Sites and the William G. Pomeroy Foundation® Partner to Launch Marker Grant Program Supporting the National Votes for Women… Read More

Do you know an #UnsungIowaShero?
Celebrating our Iowa sheroes throughout the month of March

To celebrate Women's History Month in Iowa during the month of March, we are celebrating by featuring an "Unsung Iowa Shero" throughout the month on our Department's Facebook and Twitter pages.

Read More

The Iowa Department of Human Rights' Office on the Status of Women and the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women would like to take this time to recognize and honor those we have lost over the last several months. We would like to pay tribute to the legacy these women have left behind and all of the work those they have influenced will continue to do for Iowans.

Iowa Women's Hall of Fame… Read More

The 2017 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame ceremony has been relocated to the following location:

Staplin Performing Arts Center (auditorium)
Valley High School
3650 Woodland Ave
West Des Moines, IA 50266

The ceremony will still begin at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday, August 26th. A reception (free and open to the public) will follow the ceremony in the lobby… Read More

The Iowa Department of Human Rights' Office on the Status of Women (Iowa Commission on the Status of Women) proudly accepted a 2016 Achievement Award from the National Association of Commissions for Women in late July for its collaborative work during Pay Equity Week in 2016 with the American Association of University Women (AAUW) and the U.S. Department of Labor's Women… Read More

The Iowa Department of Human Rights and the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women (ICSW) are excited to announce four remarkable women to be inducted into the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame.

The 2016 Hall of Fame honorees are:

Grace Amemiya (Ames)—Nurse, Advocate for Peace and JusticeAngela Connolly (Des Moines)—Polk County Supervisor, Central Iowa LeaderDr. Michele Devlin (Cedar Falls)—… Read More