You are here

DHR Board

The Department of Human Rights Board

The Department of Human Rights Board guides the work of the department with broad policies and objectives.  The Board is made up of public members, legislators, and representatives from each of the DHR commissions.  The DHR Board's responsibilities include developing and monitoring a strategic plan, approving the budget recommended by the director, adopting administrative rules, and approving an Annual Report to the governor and general assembly.  The DHR Board’s strategic goals and action plan provide more insight into the work of the Board.  See also Iowa Code Section 216A.3.  

Board Meetings

DHR Board Members

  • Floyd Winter (Cedar Falls, IA), Chair, Public Member
  • Dr. Ahmadu Baba-Singhri (Des Moines, IA), Commission on the Status of African Americans
  • Representative Holly Brink (District 80), Ex officio
  • Anna Brown (DeWitt, IA), Commission on Community Action Agencies
  • Beth Coonan (Des Moines, IA), Commission on the Status of Women
  • Ben Jung (Des Moines, IA), Commission of Asian and Pacific Islander Affairs
  • Karen Mackey (Sioux City, IA), Commission of Native American Affairs
  • Telina McKenna-Quintana (Waterloo, IA), Commission of Deaf Services
  • Gilbert Nunez (Toddville, IA), Commission of Latino Affairs
  • Judge Jeff Neary (Merrill, IA), Justice Advisory Board
  • Michelle Ray-Michalec (Cedar Rapids, IA), Commission of Persons with Disabilities
  • Representative Phyllis Thede (District 93), Ex officio
  • Senator Zach Wahls (District 37), Ex officio
  • Senator Zach Whiting (District 1), Ex officio
  • San Wong, DHR Director, Ex officio
  • LaSheila Yates (Cedar Rapids), Public Member

Back to top