Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Sex Offender Research Council

This Council is no longer in existence.  HF634 instituted the Justice Advisory Board and eliminated this council, the Criminal & Juvenile Justice Planning Advisory Council, and the Public Safety Advisory Board.   

The SORC was established in 2008 as part of DHR CJJP through code 216A.139. The council is tasked with providing on-going research and policy analysis for sex offenses and offenders.

Recent Council Meetings

Sex Offender Research Council Members

Steve Michael, Chair

Iowa Department of Human Rights

Des Moines

Beth Barnhill


Des Moines

Bret Braafhart

Iowa Department of Public Safety

Des Moines

Katrina Carter

Iowa Department of Corrections

Des Moines

Tiffany Conroy

Iowa Department of Public Health

Des Moines

Clint Fredericksen

Iowa Department of Human Services

Des Moines

Capt. H. LeRoy Kunde

Iowa State Sheriffs' & Deputies' Association


Janelle Melohn

Iowa Department of Justice

Des Moines

Andrea Muelhaupt

Iowa Board of Parole

Des Moines

Tim Ross

Juvenile Court Services

Council Bluffs

Kurt Swaim

State Public Defender's Office

Des Moines

Tony Tatman, Ph.D.

Department of Correctional Services

Des Moines

John Werden

Iowa County Attorneys Association


Daniel Zeno

ACLU of Iowa

Des Moines

Ex-officio members:

Rep. Dustin Hite

Iowa House - District 79

Mahaska County

Sen. Kevin Kinney

Iowa Senate - District 39


Sen. Brad Zaun

Iowa Senate - District 20


Rep. Mary Lynn Wolfe

Iowa House - District 98