You are here

Criminal Justice Information System

Vision Statement

Work collaboratively with the Governor and her designees; the Iowa Supreme Court and staff; policymakers from federal, state, and local governments; and criminal justice agencies and associations, to develop and implement information technology solutions for the purpose of integrating the criminal justice systems from courts, law enforcement, corrections, and other governmental entities.

Mission Statement

While recognizing and preserving the separate mission; priorities; constitutional objectives; and governing laws, rules and regulations of the participating agencies responsible for criminal justice within the State of Iowa, we will:

  • Innovatively and collaboratively work to integrate, to the most reasonable extent possible, the functionality and interoperability of criminal justice information systems.
  • Develop a governance structure that provides for the ongoing planning and oversight of integrated criminal justice information systems in Iowa.
  • Focus on enhancing the efficiency, effectiveness, and accuracy of our criminal justice information.
  • Develop information technology architecture for an integrated criminal justice system in
  • Iowa that makes the most appropriate use of the operational systems of participating agencies

Board Members

Kim Reynolds, Governor of Iowa
Susan Christensen, Chief Justice of the Iowa Supreme Court
Paul Trombino, Interim Director, Iowa Department of Administrative Services
Todd Nuccio, State Court Administrator, Iowa Judicial Branch

CJIS History and Overview


CJIS Exchanges

Current Projects in Development

  • Sheriff Return of Service:  We are developing an exchange that will allow sheriffs and deputies to automatically submit served Returns of Service to the courts.  This will replace a burdensome manual process currently in use.
  • Juvenile Complaints:  We already operate exchanges that allow adult criminal complaints to be automatically transmitted from law enforcement to courts, county attorneys, or both.  Juvenile delinquency complaints have remained a manual process.  This exchange will automate the process for juvenile complaints, eliminating manual entry and making the system more efficient and accurate.
  • Judicial Queries:  This exchange will allow judges on the bench to do a real-time query to the Department of Public Safety on the status of a warrant.  These records are currently only updated once per day, so judges do not have access to the most up-to-date and accurate information on the people appearing in their courtrooms.
  • Public Defender Court Notice:  For years, CJIS has provided an information exchange between the courts and county attorneys (prosecutors) to assist in eliminating manual entry of all new case data.  Instead, a CJIS exchange automatically transmits new case data into the county attorneys' case management system.  This new exchange in development will bring that same service to our state's public defenders.