Picture of flowers and Iowa Women's Hall of Fame and Cristine Wilson plaques

On August 26th, the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women inducted four women into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame: Jane Boyd (deceased), U.S. Senator Joni Kay Ernst, Councilwoman Christine Hensley, and Governor Kim Reynolds. The 2017 Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice Recipient was awarded to Alicia Parrott Claypool. 

You are here

The Office on the Status of Women

Are you a woman looking for help?

We are here to assist you. For resources and publications related to discrimination in the workplace, help connecting with and accessing local resources, or connecting with opportunities throughout Iowa, we can help.

Our mission is to:

  • Serve as the central permanent office to advocate for women and girls.
  • Coordinate and cooperate with the efforts of state departments and agencies to serve the needs of women and girls in participating fully in the economic, social, and cultural life of the state, and provide direct assistance to individuals who request it.
  • Serve as the clearinghouse on programs and agencies operating to assist women and girls.
  • Develop, coordinate, and assist other public or private organizations which serve women and girls.

The Office on the Status of Women works closely with the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.