You are here



2017 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame Honorees to be Inducted

Four remarkable women will be inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame at 9:30 a.m. Saturday, August 26, at the Staplin Performing Arts Center located at Valley High School, 3650 Woodland Avenue in West Des Moines, Iowa. (Please note: this is a change in location from an earlier press release).  

The Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame is held in conjunction with Women's Equality Day, August 26, which commemorates the day in 1920 when American women first obtained the right to vote.

Highlights include:

--Hall of Fame awards to:     

  • Jane Boyd (deceased), Cedar Rapids
  • U.S. Senator Joni K. Ernst, Red Oak
  • Councilwoman Christine Hensley, Des Moines
  • Governor Kimberly K. Reynolds, Osceola

--Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice to: Alicia Parrott Claypool, West Des Moines

To celebrate the honorees and their families and friends, the Friends of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women will host a reception immediately following the ceremony in the atrium of the Staplin Performing Arts Center. The ceremony and reception are free and open to the public. Attendees do not need to register.