You are here

2020 Iowa Latino Hall of Fame Members

2020 Iowa Latino Hall of Fame Members

Elizabeth Balcarcel

Michael R. Reyes

Gabriela Rivera

Crystal Ambriz

Henny Ohr

Buffy E. Jamison

Elizabeth Balcarcel rom Zacatecas, Mexico - Des Moines, Iowa

Elizabeth is a state and national leader in the anti-violence movement, working tirelessly for safety and immigrant rights. Her compassion and diligence have improved many lives.

Michael R. Reyes of Mexican heritage - Davenport, Iowa

Michael has a long history as a role model for the Latino communities in Iowa. He was the Iowa LULAC director, a U.S. Army veteran and a member of the Rock Island American Legion post 200 for over 23 years.

Gabriela Rivera from Mexico City, Mexico - Coralville, Iowa

Committed to expanding the educational opportunities to Iowa students and residents, Gabriela Rivera demonstrates the importance of Latino values through advocacy, service, and community.

Iowa Latinx Youth Leadership Award:

Crystal Ambriz from Tijuana, Mexico -Columbus Junction, Iowa

Advocate for workers rights and housing discrimination, 
She is a DACAmented, community organizer, referee, artist, runner, and leader for young people that are ready to make change to happen.

Robert D. Ray Award for Equity and Justice:

Henny Ohr from Seoul, Korea - Johnston, Iowa

Henny Ohr is a Founder and Executive Director of EMBARC, Iowa’s first refugee-led, non-profit service provider.  Henny supports immigrant and refugee communities with the knowledge and resources they need to feel at home in Iowa. She has helped many.

Iowa LGBTQIA Leadership Award:

Buffy E. Jamison from Des Moines, Iowa

An educator who lives at the intersection of Blackness, Queerness, and disability. Her work in the community unites these issues to create collective liberation. Buffy is the co-chair of the Iowa Queer Communities of Color Coalition.

Latino Heritage Month Proclamation

2020 Iowa Latino Heritage Month Proclamation

2020 Selections Committee

  • Christina Fernadez-Morrow, Public Member

  • Christina Velasquez, Public Member

  • Lilian Sanchez, Public Member

  • Lorena Gingerich, Commissioner

  • Caleb Knutson, Commissioner