You are here

2020 Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice: Honorable Justice Chief Mark Cady

"His inherent kindness and respect for others guided his conduct on the bench as much as it guided his conduct off the bench." Former Chief Justice and Hall of Fame Member Marsha Ternus

Chief Justice Mark Cady Image

The 2020 recipient of the Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice was awarded to The Honorable Chief Justice Mark Cady (Fort Dodge, Iowa): Chief Justice of the Iowa Supreme Court 2011-2019; wrote the historical Varnum v. Brien opinion in 2009, legalizing same-sex marriage in Iowa; emphasized new ideas such as digital messaging for defendants and law enforcement; rotating Iowa Supreme Court hearings around the State of Iowa; received countless achievement and leadership awards from Drake University, Buena Vista University and many other recognitions from legal entities such as the Iowa State Bar Association, American Bar Association, Iowa Judges Association and Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers, among many others.  Chief Justice Mark Cady passed away unexpectedly in 2019.  Posthumous award.

In regards to health and safety during the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame recipients were celebrated virtually.  You can watch Honorable Chief Justice Mark Cady's award video here.