Community Action Agencies

The Division of Community Action Agencies addresses issues facing families by bringing resources for the elderly, disabled and the low-income to the community level.


2016 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The Iowa Department of Human Rights and the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women (ICSW) are excited to announce four remarkable women to be inducted into the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame.

The 2016 Hall of Fame honorees are:

  • Grace Amemiya (Ames)—Nurse, Advocate for Peace and Justice
  • Angela Connolly (Des Moines)—Polk County Supervisor, Central Iowa Leader
  • Dr. Michele Devlin (Cedar Falls)—Professor, Public Health Advocate
  • Viola Gibson (Formerly of Cedar Rapids; deceased)—Iowa Civil Rights Leader 

The ICSW established the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1975 to highlight women's heritage and recognize their important contributions to society.  Each year the ICSW and the Governor welcome four women into the Hall of Fame, paying tribute to them and setting them forth as role models for others.  As of 2016, 168 women will have been inducted into the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony will take place Saturday, August 20, 2016, at 9:30 a.m. at the State Historical Building located at 600 E. Locust, Des Moines. The event is free and open to the public and will be followed by a reception hosted by the Friends of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in the atrium of the State Historical Building. 

Commissions, Boards & Councils

The DHR is your partner in building better communities for all who live here. We open doors, find answers, meet challenges and develop resources. We provide a link among agencies, nonprofits and outreach groups within the state, and between federal and state programs. Our approach stems from a Commission, Board and Council structure to ensure the distinct voices of all Iowans are heard.  If you are interested in serving on a commission or board, go to to learn more about the application process.


Boards & Councils